Focusing on six words: Helping government do its job better

Archive for November 5th, 2009

DorobekInsider: Winners of the 7th Annual Greater Washington Government Contractor Awards

leave a comment »

I mentioned that earlier this week, I was at the Coalition for Government Procurement’s Excellence in Partnership awards. Last night, the winners of the 7th Annual Greater Washington Government Contractor Awards were announced. The GWGCA’s are presented by Fairfax County Chamber of Commerce’s Greater Washington GovCon Council, the Professional Services Council and Washington Technology magazine.

Washington Technology reports:

Four companies and three executives were honored for their achievements during the past year at the annual Greater Washington Government Contractor Awards program Wednesday night.

The seven winners were picked from 36 finalists in seven categories…

As part of the annual dinner, Al Nashman, former president of Computer Sciences Corp.’s federal business, received the hall of fame award for contributions during his career. Nashman, retired from CSC in 1992 after 27 years and is widely credited with creating the business model for government information technology contractors.

Read the full story.

The full list of winners:

Contractor of the Year
(less than $25 million)
Dovel Technologies

Contractor of the Year
($25 to $75 million)
High Performance Technologies

Contractor of the Year
($75 to $300 million)
Whitney, Bradley & Brown

Contractor of the Year
(greater than $300 million)
CACI International

Executive of the Year
(less than $75 million)
Jerry Torres, Torres A E Solutions

Executive of the Year
($75 to $300 million)
Bill Hoover, American Systems Corporation

Executive of the Year
(greater than $300 million)
Sudhakar Kesavan, ICF International

Public Sector Partners
David Drabkin, GSA

Hall of Fame Inductee
Al Nashman, Former Executive, CSC

Get more information from the Professional Services Council here.

Written by cdorobek

November 5, 2009 at 2:53 PM

Posted in awards, Circuit, Industry

DorobekInsider: GSA transition leads earn Coalition Partnership recognition

leave a comment »

The Coalition for Government Procurement Tuesday night handed out its 10th annual Excellence in Partnership Awards at the Mayflower Hotel in Washington, DC. I was honored to be asked to speak at the event. More on that a bit later.

The night’s big award — Government/Industry Partnership Alliance Award, which is only given out in years when there is somebody who rises to the challenge — was given to two leaders who led the presidential transition initiative for the General Services Administration, which, by all accounts, went exceedingly well. The two winners:

* Ed O’Hare, who is now the head of GSA Federal Acquisition Service’s Integrated Technology Services, but was one of the leaders of the transition team.
* Timothy O. Horne, GSA, Rocky Mountain Region

The other winners:

Category: GSA Customer Agencies

Best Use of Cooperative Purchasing

Jill Klaskin Press, Miami-Dade County, Department of Procurement

Most Effective Use of FAS in Support of its Critical Mission

DoD – Defense Information Systems Agency Program Management Office for Commercial Satellite Communications PEO STS

Civilian – Marc A. Joseph, Department of Homeland Security, Federal Protective Service

Loyal User Award

DHS, Immigration & Customs Enforcement, Acquisition Mgmt – Dallas Office

Lifetime Achievement Award

Beth Campbell, Federal Bureau of Investigation

Category: GSA

Most Innovative Acquisition Center
FEDSIM Civilian Acquisition Group

Most Effective Contracting Officer or Project Manager
Robert Woodside, Administrative Services Acquisition Branch, National Administrative Services and Office Supplies Acquisition Center, FAS, GSA

Most Active Marketing Organization
Christine Lundstrom, GSA FAS National Publications Center

Best New Negotiator
Bounce Quarry, Federal Acquisition Service

Lifetime Achievement Award (tie)
Rebecca Koses, Acquisition Operations, Office of Travel, Motor Vehicles and Card Services
Harry W. Butler, III, GSA Office of Customer Accounts and Research

Category: Industry

Most Valuable Schedule Contractor
Raytheon GSA PMO

Most Innovative Small Business
Source One Distributors

Most Successful Newcomer
Highland Engineering, Inc.

Green Contractor Award
CamelBak Products, LLC

Lifetime Achievement Award
Gary Barth, Canon USA
Carolyn Alston, Washington Management Group

Written by cdorobek

November 5, 2009 at 2:26 PM